The following is a list of winners and their remarks on receiving their awards:


Antonyia Parvanova (ALDE Bulgaria): "I would like to thank all my colleagues - not only for cooperating but also for contradicting because this helps us find the truth and solutions. I would also like to thank the people in my office for being able to survive what I’m doing to them - this award is for all of you that are working with me - and the man who is still next to me and loving me after not seeing me at all."


Jo Leinen (S&D Germany): "I would like to thank my assistants and the NGOs - because without them parliament would not be able to work like this. This prize is for all those people in the world who have big hopes that the European parliament can set standards for good quality of environment and for saving the atmosphere."


Gay Mitchell (EPP Ireland): "Gay is a wonderful person and a member of our EPP party with a real social conscience. I will be delivering it back to him in Dublin tomorrow if he’s still standing after his daughter’s wedding," Irish EPP deputy Jim Higgins, accepting the award on Mitchell’s behalf


Edite Estrela (S&D Portugal): "I’m very proud and would like to congratulate all the nominees. I dedicate this prize to European women."


Malcolm Harbour (ECR UK): "I accept this award on behalf of all the members of parliament’s internal market and consumer protection committee because we work very well together and have made a great difference in our first year. "


Mario Mauro (EPP Italy): "This is a great honour. I am also very proud in my role as head of the Italian delegation. Times are changing for us."

Outstanding Contribution

Eva-Britt Svensson (GUE Sweden): "I’m very happy, proud and extremely grateful to receive this prize. It’s really an honour. This prize is for all women who have struggled for gender equality and justice over the decades in order to build a better society for all - women, men and children," Azadeh Jafari, political adviser to parliament’s Femm committee, accepting the award on Svensson’s behalf.

Related EPHA Articles:

article 3594

Last modified on September 30 2010.